Slavic Studies Databases
News: The contents of the Slavic Humanities Index are now included in EBSCO Discovery.
Historical Abstracts is also included in EBSCO Discovery.
- Electronic Repository for Russian Historical StatisticsElectronic Repository of Russian Historical Statistics
Selected Primary Sources
Ask for help to search for primary sources on your topic!
Election Ephemera Collections - 2010-2014 elections & events Ukraine, Russia, and Belarus. Includes a comprehensive collection of ephemera and primary source material from the Euromaidan protests.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
European History Primary Sources
Alexander Yakovlev Foundation
- Site Archived June 2018
Seventeen Moments in Soviet History
Current Digest of the Russian Press
Pravda
Targeting History and Memory- The ICTY and the investigation, reconstruction and prosecution of crimes against cultural and religious heritage.
- Library of Congress European Reading Room Finding Aids Detailed finding aids to LC collections, including Russian, Ukrainian, and Polish and more Eastern European content.
- International Foundation for Socio-Economic and Political Studies (Gorbachev Foundation) Archives and Library The archival collection reflects the evolution of the Russian state and society, mostly in the period from the late 1980s to the current day. The center’s collection of documents is based on the records donated to the Foundation by Mikhail Gorbachev and his family. They cover Mikhail Gorbachev’s activities as head of the Communist Party and state leader, and his subsequent political and public initiatives since 1992. The archives also contain personal records of Mikhail Gorbachev’s close associates - Anatoly Chernyayev, Georgy Shakhnazarov, Valentin Zagladin, and others. A separate holding is a collection of records relating to the life and public activities of Raisa Gorbachev.
National Library Catalogues & National Bibliographies
- Natsional'na bibliohrafiia Ukrainy. Litopys knyh This is the online version of the Ukrainian national bibliography's series that covers books. Online coverage is available from 2002 to the present.
- Natsional'na bibliohrafiia Ukrainy. Litopys avtoreferativ dysertatsii This is the online version of the Ukrainian national bibliography's series that covers dissertations defended in Ukraine. One of the requirements for obtaining a PhD in Ukraine is to publish summaries or abstracts, "avtoreferati" in Ukrainian, based on the chapters of the submitted dissertation. This bibliography covers all such publications from 2001 to the present.
- National Electronic Library, Russian Federation - Национальная электронная библиотека To provide free access of the citizens of the Russian Federation to the electronic funds of federal, regional and municipal libraries as well as to the funds of academic and educational institutions via the Internet.
- LC European Reading Room Finding Aids: Newspapers, Periodicals, Serials This page lists digital and digitized finding aids/bibliographies for European serial (i.e. newspapers, journals, magazines) publications held by the Library of Congress.
Preserving Web Documents
Ukrainian-Canadian Content: The University of Alberta Library have begun to add Ukrainian-Canadian content to the Internet Archive. Here is the list of sites that we are working on so far:
- Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine (CIUS) - live site - archived versions
- Ukrainian-Canadian Congress: Alberta Provincial Council - live site - archived versions
- Ukrainian Canadian Civil Liberties Association - live site - archived versions
- NASHI: Our Children - live site - archived versions
Ukraine Conflict 2014-2015: Internet Archive is working with library partners to preserve free online web content of the crisis
- Search the collection
Background Info
Encyclopedia of Russian History
The Columbia Literary History of Eastern Europe since 1945
PN 849 E9 S44 2008 - available in library
Eastern Europe: an introduction to the people, lands, and culture
The former Soviet Union's diverse peoples: a reference sourcebook
Language Dictionaries
Find dictionaries on the shelf in these call number ranges, Rutherford Library North 5th floor:
- Russian: PG 2640
- Ukrainian: PG 3891
- Polish: PG 6640
Cyrillic Scripts & Transliteration
Cyrillic scripts are transliterated in the library's catalogue using the ALA-LC Romanization Tables.
This is a North American standard.
Many academic sources use the International Standard.
ISO Standards for Writing and Translation:
- OA Access in Wikipedia
- Check ISO Standards Database for most current versions
Eesti Keele Instituut provides tables listing multiple transliteration systems
- scroll down to find the table for your language
Translit.net transliterates for you using the International system of transliteration
Transliterate.com transliterates for you. Offers 3 transliteration systems, including ALA-LC (select using drop-down menu)
Descriptions in OCLC WorldCat can be either ALA-LC or ISO, because WorldCat includes library catalogue records from all over the world.