Subject Guides: Materials Science and Engineering: Home

Important Reference Books

A comprehensive and detailed reference guide on the integrity and safety of oil and gas pipelines, both onshore and offshore. Covers a wide variety of topics, including design, pipe manufacture, pipeline welding, human factors, residual stresses, mechanical damage, fracture and corrosion, protection, inspection and monitoring, pipeline cleaning, direct assessment, repair, risk management, and abandonment.

Engineering Case Studies Online

A comprehensive source for a wide range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes.

Finding Information - Try These Databases First

Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ei Compendex (1884 to the present) provides international coverage of all fields of engineering including related areas of applied science, management, and energy.
Fields covered include: aeronautics; applied physics; bioengineering and medical equipment; chemical engineering; polymers and food technology; computers and robotics; civil, structural, control, electrical, electronics, and environmental engineering; energy technology and petroleum engineering; industrial engineering; information science; light and optical technology; marine engineering; mechanical, mining, and metallurgic engineering; materials science; nuclear engineering; and transportation.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web Of Science Core Collection includes Citation Indexes for Arts & Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences.
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is the worlds largest database for the identification of physical and chemical properties in Materials Science. It covers data from Materials Science, Physics, Physical and Inorganic Chemistry, Engineering and other related fields. It supports research in the fields of bulk and fine chemical manufacturing, petroleum and petrochemicals, semiconductors and electronic materials, optical metals, ceramics, polymer synthesis and processing, and materials for fuels and energy application.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This db is now called ASTM Compass

MatWeb
HTEM - High Throughput Experimental Materials Database
Provided by the US National Renewable Energy Laboratory, the public version of HTEM DB features composition, structure, optical, and electrical properties of thin films synthesized using combinatorial methods. It currently contains 1,300+ sample libraries with 57,000+ thin film samples, across a wide range of materials (oxides, nitrides, sulfide, intermetallics).
Complete List of Materials Science and Engineering Databases

Full-Text Handbook Databases

Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel contains engineering-focused reference works and textbooks. Users can find data hidden in tables, graphs, and equations. Includes interactive tables, equation plotters, charts and graphs that can be manipulated and exported into other tools such as Excel.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering features full text ebook content from McGraw-Hill engineering publications.

ASM Handbooks and Alloy Index

ASM Handbooks Online
ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of thirty ASM Handbook volumes, several ASM Handbook supplements, and two ASM Desk Editions

ASM Alloy Center Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alloy Finder: Alloy designations and trade names from around the world. Find key information, including composition, producer, tensile properties, and similar alloys.
Materials Property Data: Mechanical properties, physical properties, and processing characteristics for most industrially important alloys. Find data plotted over a range of temperatures.
Coatings Data: Detailed information for commercial coating processes. Search by trade name, manufacturer, process type, coating type, or key words.
Corrosion Data: Corrosion information for specific alloys in specific environments. Search by alloy or environment.
Data Sheets & Diagrams: Thousands of documents in PDF format, including material data sheets from Alloy Digest and other ASM publications; heat treating data sheets from the Heat Treater's Guides; and time-temperature curves, creep curves, and fatigue curves from ASM atlas publications. All organized by alloy and fully searchable.

Subject Librarian

Ania Dymarz

she/her

Email Me

Materials Science and Engineering