Subject Guides: Nursing: Home

Welcome to the Nursing LibGuide

This guide is intended for use by students, faculty, staff in the Faculty of Nursing at the University of Alberta. You will find quick links to library resources - databases, journals, books, multimedia - that will help you with your studies and research. Use the side navigation to easily connect to relevant content.

Have questions? Email your librarian, Megan Kennedy, using the email found under "Contact Your Librarian"

New to the Library? Check out these quick orientation videos to help you get started

First year student? Check out this great open education resource (OER) to get yourself on the right path:

Strategies for Success in Nursing School: From Start to Finish

Best Bets Databases for Nursing Research - Quick Links

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937 to the present) provides indexing for the major English language journals in the areas of nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields such as respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Topics covered by this database include patient care, health promotion, professional issues for health care workers, patient education, rehabilitation, and other related subjects. Those with little or no health science background may be able to find useful articles on the more common disease and injury conditions, as well as other health topics, because CINAHL does include some consumer health information. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,100 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. Includes text in Chinese, Danish, English, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, and Turkish languages.
MEDLINE (1946-present via Ovid) This link opens in a new window Also includes Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Ovid MEDLINE(R) Daily MEDLINE (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. The type of information contained in MEDLINE ranges from the basic biomedical sciences like anatomy, physiology, biochemistry to clinical information outlining the nature and course of disease or injury, as well as its treatment.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Not sure how to use these databases? Check out the "Databases" tab to view helpful videos and handouts that will help guide you through the process.

Need some additional search help? We offer regular workshops on searching Medline and CINAHL. Sign up for the next one by looking through upcoming workshops:

Upcoming Workshops

Point-of-Care Tools / Clinical Resources

DynaMed This link opens in a new window DynaMed is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for physicians and other health care professionals created for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Find other point-of-care tools and mobile apps available through the library:

Health Sciences Resources for Mobile Devices

Contact Your Librarian

Megan Kennedy

She/Her(s)

Email Me

Contact:

Geoffrey & Robyn Sperber Health Sciences Library
1-150M Edmonton Clinic Health Academy (ECHA)
11405 87 Avenue NW
Edmonton, AB Canada T6G 1C9