Related Guides
Specialized databases
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesRefrences western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
- ATLA Religion DatabaseInternational coverage of topics such as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social
issues.
Background & Reference
- Digital dictionary of BuddhismA compilation of Buddhist technical terminology texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. Languages: many East Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit and Tibetan).
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: BuddhismCombines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia,
- Encyclopedia of BuddhismBurswell. Macmillan. 2004. Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices, different schools, and sects. E.g. Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies,history of Buddhism, different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.
- Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: BL 31 E55 2005Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of religion.
Reference Work Terms
|
|
Examples:
Journals
- Japanese Journal of Religious StudiesTop journal dedicated to Japanese religions (incl. articles on other religious and study of religion broadly). Notable for articles by leading Japanese scholars in translation. From UAlberta access link: Proquest option allows searching back to 1960 including the former title Contemporary Religions in Japan.
- The journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The leading international journal dedicated to Buddhist Studies across time periods and
regions. Newer issues in hard copy in Rutherford (click on book icon). 24 month embargo on open access digital.
For other periodicals, use "search the library" --> advanced --> subject field. E.g.
Subject Terms / Keywords
Use in basic search or "subject" field search (usually in advanced search).
Some key ones:
- Buddhism
- Buddhist
- Buddha
- Zen Buddhism
- "religious aspects"
- "study and teaching"
- ritual; rituals; liturgy; worship
- doctrines
- "customs and practices"
- Buddhism China
- Buddhism India
For example:
buddhism AND "study and teaching"
TIP: keep track of useful subject terms for future searching.
Call Numbers. Shelf Browsing.
Explore the shelves physically and "virtually" (through call number searching).
- BQ Buddhism
Further breakdowns here (click on B section):
New books in the University of Alberta Library
Websites
Important: These links are out of our control. They may change or become dead unexpectedly.
