Skip to Main Content
Skip to main content
Library

Religious Studies

Related Guides

Starter Titles

Specialized databases

UAlberta subscribed databases

Background & Reference

We have thousands of encyclopedias, dictionaries, companions, handbooks, guides, introductions, etc. 

Search the library:  combine these with your broad topic(s).

  • encyclopedia(s); encyclopaedia
  • dictionary; dictionaries
  • "encyclopedias and dictionaries"
  • companion
  • handbook
  • introduction
  • guide
  • textbook

For example: 

Examples:

encyclopedia AND judaism

(companion OR handbook) AND jewish

Collections of Background Resources

Note: search the library for print versions of some titles, and for titles that are listed but not accessible.

Websites

Important: These links are out of our control. They may change or become dead unexpectedly.

Subject Terms / Keywords

Use in basic search or "subject" field search (usually in advanced search).

Some key ones:

  • Judaism
  • Jewish
  • Hebrew language
  • Aramaic language

  • "religious aspects"
  • "study and teaching"
  • ritual; rituals; liturgy; worship
  • doctrines
  • "customs and practices"

  • "Bible O.T."
  • Pentateuch
  • Cabala

For example:

judaism AND "study and teaching"

TIP: keep track of useful subject terms for future searching.

Call Numbers. Shelf Browsing.

Explore the shelves physically and "virtually" (through call number searching).

  • BM  Judaism
  • BS   The Bible

Further breakdowns here (click on B section):

Subjects: Religious Studies