Subject Guides: Audio, Video &amp; Gaming Resources: Streaming Audio & Video

ERA & Aviary Institutional Repositories

Education and Research Archive (ERA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Aviary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

ERA and Aviary (a streaming platform formerly known as ERA A/V) comprise the University of Alberta's institutional archive of scholarly output.

Note: due to copyright considerations, some collections in Aviary are only searchable after logging in with your active CCID.

Finding Streaming Content

You will find that the categories outlined on this page are arbitrary at best, due to the multi-disciplinary nature of many of our audio and video resources, but hopefully they will help you get started.

General Resources

Associated Press Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open Polar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Routledge Historical Resources: History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Adam Matthew has many unique collections featuring audio and video from archives around the world. Individual collections are listed alphabetically on the AM home page:

Adam Matthew - All Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Age of Exploration
First World War
Food and Drink in History
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers’ Company Archive
Medical Services and Warfare
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
Race Relations in America
Socialism on Film
Victorians on Film: Entertainment, Innovation and Everyday Life

Alexander Street provides access to a number of primary sources in video and audio. Navigate to individual collections by clicking "Menu" in the upper left corner, then click on "My Collections":

Alexander Street - All Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

African Diaspora: 1860 to Present
Food Studies Online
Global Issues Library
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820
Women and Social Movements Library
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present

Alexander Street- All Video Collections is a film database covering a multitude of collections relating to historical and cultural studies. Navigate to individual collections by clicking on the Menu bar in the upper left corner, then click on "Collections":

Alexander Street - All Video Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

60 MINUTES: 1997-2014
American History in Video
Art and Architecture in Video
Black Studies in Video
Border and Migration Studies Online
Caribbean Studies in Video: The Banyan Archive
Environmental Issues Online
Environmental Studies in Video
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Ethnographic Video Online
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library
Health and Society in Video
Human Rights Studies Online
March of Time
Security Issues Online
World History in Video
World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966

All of the resources listed below have content for various professional training and curriculum needs. iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool and National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation Archives are openly available websites on the internet.

Alexander Street - All Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street - All Video Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Can Core Academic Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First Nations, Métis and Inuit Playlist This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Indigenous Canada MOOC

iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NFB Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

There are many streaming databases that provide content for training and curriculum. However, databases listed in the other tabs, especially Indigenous Content, Music & Concerts, Theatre & Dance, and TV/Films & Documentaries also contain resources useful for training and curricular purposes.

General Resources

Alexander Street - All Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street - All Video Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use of Films on Demand is governed by the following terms:

Permitted Uses of the Collection and Video Titles Collection is licensed solely to Licensee and Authorized Users for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing. Licensee and Authorized Users may stream, display, publicly perform, or exhibit the Video Titles asynchronously on a single computer or network, course management system, or password-protected website. Licensee and Authorized Users may electronically save, organize, and share Video Titles or parts thereof with other Authorized Users using tools provided with Films On Demand.

Prohibited Uses of the Collection and Video Titles Neither Licensee nor Authorized Users may (1) mount or distribute any element of the Collection on any electronic network accessible to parties who are not Authorized Users, including without limitation the Internet and the World Wide Web; (2) use all or any part of the Collection for Commercial Use or; (3) copy, transmit, modify, distribute, sell, or create derivative works from the Video Titles except as expressly permitted under applicable law or as described herein.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: There will be no content updates to this database after September 30, 2020 due to budget cuts
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Anthropology

Anthropology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Business

Business & Economics (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Education in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Human Resource Management Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International Business Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Counselling & Psychology

Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTherapy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Education

Education in Video This link opens in a new window Online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Can Core Academic Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NFB Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Medical/Health Care

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BATES Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Alexander Street - All Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street - All Video Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Berliner Philharmoniker: Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnomusicology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
medici.tv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

OperaVision

Alexander Street - All Collections:

Alexander Street - All Video Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries - it includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat.
Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Popular Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Alexander Street - All Video Collections:

BroadwayHD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Classical Music in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Alexander Street - All Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street - All Video Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stratfest@home This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Alexander Street - All Collections:

The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection

Alexander Street - All Video Collections:

BBC Literary Adaptations in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BroadwayHD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video: Volume II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Alexander Street - All Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street - All Video Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Can Core Academic Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criterion-on-Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use of Films on Demand is governed by the following terms:

Permitted Uses of the Collection and Video Titles Collection is licensed solely to Licensee and Authorized Users for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing. Licensee and Authorized Users may stream, display, publicly perform, or exhibit the Video Titles asynchronously on a single computer or network, course management system, or password-protected website. Licensee and Authorized Users may electronically save, organize, and share Video Titles or parts thereof with other Authorized Users using tools provided with Films On Demand.

Prohibited Uses of the Collection and Video Titles Neither Licensee nor Authorized Users may (1) mount or distribute any element of the Collection on any electronic network accessible to parties who are not Authorized Users, including without limitation the Internet and the World Wide Web; (2) use all or any part of the Collection for Commercial Use or; (3) copy, transmit, modify, distribute, sell, or create derivative works from the Video Titles except as expressly permitted under applicable law or as described herein.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NFB Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Victorians on Film: Entertainment, Innovation and Everyday Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Alexander Street - All Video Collections:

Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BBC Literary Adaptations in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Film Platform Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window