Subject Guides: Equity, Diversity, &amp; Inclusivity: Library Resources: Gender Identity & Expression

Feedback welcome!

Thoughts? Reactions? Omissions? Corrections? Let us know!

All definitions on this page are from the Human Rights Campaign's Glossary of Terms and Trans Student Educational Resources.

Banner image by Alexander Grey on Unsplash.

Pronouns

Ask My Pronouns
A helpful guide from The Landing at the University of Alberta, including FAQs and a pronoun reference sheet:

SU Pronoun Resources
Pronoun resources from the Students' Union at the University of Alberta.
Use of the Singular "They"
Grammar guidelines from APA Style.
How do I use singular they?
Grammar guidelines from MLA Style Center.

Gender Identity: One’s innermost concept of self as male, female, a blend of both or neither – how individuals perceive themselves and what they call themselves. One's gender identity can be the same or different from their sex assigned at birth.

Gender Expression: External appearance of one's gender identity, usually expressed through behaviour, clothing, haircut or voice, and which may or may not conform to socially defined behaviours and characteristics typically associated with being either masculine or feminine.

Sex Assigned at Birth: The assignment and classification of people as male, female, intersex, or another sex based on a combination of anatomy, hormones, chromosomes.

Books

Cover image of the book Gender: Your Guide, showing interlocking rainbow symbols of genderqueer, female, and male

Gender: Your Guide: A Gender-Friendly Primer on What to Know, What to Say, & What to Do in the New Gender Culture

Cover image of the book Navigating Trans*+ and Complex Gender Identities, showing a blue face with neon eyelashes and paint splatters against a black background

Navigating Trans*+ & Complex Gender Identities

Cover image of the book How to Understand Your Gender, showing green and purple cartoon pictures of six people reading books

How to Understand Your Gender: A Practical Guide for Exploring Who You Are

Cover image of the book What's your pronoun? showing a tan background with colourful lines like a map with different pronouns

What's Your Pronoun?: Beyond He & She

Cover image of the book The Oxford Handbook of Sexual and Gender Minority Mental Health, image of what looks like purple ocean waves above title

The Oxford Handbook of Sexual & Gender Minority Mental Health

The A-Z of Gender and Sexuality: From Ace to Ze

Queer: A Graphic History

Cover image of the book The Plasticity of Sex, showing a wooden trans symbol and male and female figures stacked together against a light blue background

The Plasticity of Sex: The Molecular Biology & Clinical Features of Genomic Sex, Gender Identity & Sexual Behavior

Cover image of the book A clinician's guide to gender identity and body image, showing text on a background of purple and blue clouds

A Clinician's Guide to Gender Identity & Body Image: Practical Support for Working with Transgender & Gender-Expansive Clients

Cover image of the book Gender Identity, Sexual Orientation, and Sexual Assault, showing green text in white blocks on a green background

Gender Identity, Sexual Orientation, & Sexual Assault: Challenging the Myths

A Reflective Guide to Gender Identity Counselling

A Dictionary of Gender Studies

Cover image of the book Gender Norms and Intersectionality, showing three people holding onto each other's feet to form a connecting bridge against a background of red geometric shapes and lines

Gender Norms & Intersectionality: Connecting Race, Class & Gender

Exploring Gender Diversity in the Ancient World

Genderqueer and Non-Binary Genders

Cover image of the book Gender Identity, Sexuality and Autism : Voices from Across the Spectrum showing colourful paint splatters on a cream background

Gender Identity, Sexuality & Autism: Voices from Across the Spectrum

Palgrave Handbook of the Psychology of Sexuality & Gender

Cover image of the book Gender identity and research relationships, showing white text on teal background

Gender Identity & Research Relationships

Search Support

Starting your search can seem daunting, but we can help you break things down into steps and give you some tips:

Check out our Foundational Tutorials (available in English et en Français!)
Use "quotation marks" to keep your search terms together (e.g. "gender expression" will search for instances where those two words appear next to each other).
Use *asterisks to search for words that have the same root (e.g. "gender identit*" searches "gender identity" as well as "gender identities").
If you have more specific questions, just Ask Us! Our library staff are more than happy to help you out.

The following are keyword search results from 300+ databases. Results include academic journal articles, ebooks, books, magazine/news articles, reviews, etc. These keywords, and any others you are interested in for your research, can also be searched in the journals and databases listed on this page.

Databases

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Rights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Queer Pasts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sex & Sexuality This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Sex, Gender, and the Family This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window