The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and CultureIn 129 articles and three volumes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture provides a compendium of the best available scholarship on the nation's rich history and culture. An international group of leading authors, including well-known Mexican scholars, reveals new orlittle-known dimensions of this past or confirms with new sources previous interpretations of the Mexican experience. Themes include the expected topics of politics and economics, combined with powerful articles on biography, environment, gender, and culture, including music, art, and cinema. Uniqueto this volume are the essays on digital sources, such as digitized archives and photographic collections, with information on accessing and using them for historical research.Articles add to topical considerations such as gender and ethnicity, place Mexico into wider dimensions such as the Atlantic World and the Pacific Rim, and offer conclusions on natural phenomena such as flora (yielding pulque) and volcanic eruptions (in a farmer's corn patch). Authors enlightenreaders with assessments of Spanish-Aztec warfare, indigenous mastery of the Spanish legal system to bend it to their purposes, songs prohibited by the Inquisition, and more than one hundred other fascinating aspects of the nation's history. Coverage of individuals includes widely known figures suchas the monumental Benito Juarez, the hero and traitor Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna, Porfirio Diaz, and Lazaro Cardenas, as well as several outstanding women whose contributions have helped shape Mexican culture and politics. The Tlatelolco massacre of demonstrators in 1968 receives careful assessmentand other essays examine the changing popular and political attitudes that followed. The tragedy ushered in events that created Mexico's electoral democracy confirmed in the 2000 presidential election.Written in clear explanatory prose and incorporating the latest research, the encyclopedia's articles offer a marvelous narrative that will be of use to scholars, students, and the general reader.
This link opens in a new window
Nosotros : Latin American Community Television Programme in Edmonton (Alberta)
Library of Congress: Mexico - Hispanic Division Country GuideThe Library of Congress holds thousands of collection materials about and from Mexico. Curated by the Hispanic Division, this guide is part of a series of Country Guides that provide quick references for countries and regions from the Luso-Hispanic world. The Hispanic Division is the Library’s portal to the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. This guide offers links to diverse resources on Mexico from across the Library including digitized primary sources, selected books and periodicals, online databases, and tips for searching. For specific questions or assistance using the Library’s resources, use the Ask a Librarian service to contact a reference librarian.
Latin American Ephemera CollectionThe Latin American Ephemera Collection consists of thousands of pamphlets, brochures, flyers, posters and other printed items created since around the last quarter of the 20th century by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.
LACLI: Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian Free Online ResourcesWelcome to LACLI, an international collaboration to create a repository of free online resources for Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies! LACLI is an essential tool to find websites that provide access to a great variety of resources such as audiovisual materials, books, data, ephemera, government documents, oral histories, periodicals, reference works, visual materials, web archives and more!
Alberta KartoneraThis website is dedicated to the University of Alberta's Bruce Peel Special Collections' exceptional cartonera collection. At its heart, it celebrates the innovative spirit of the cartoneros—cardboard recyclers who transformed crisis into art in Latin America. With a spotlight on the distinctive Brazilian titles housed within, our aim is to educate visitors about the rich tapestry of the cartonera movement and the resilience of the cartoneros.