About the Translation Studies Guide
The Translation Studies guide offers information sources on understanding the art and science of translation. Please refer to the various language guides for language-specific unilingual and multilingual terminological resources.
Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias
The Routledge Handbook of Translation History
The Routledge Handbook of Translation History presents the first comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of this multi-faceted disciplinary area and serves both as an introduction to carrying out research into translation and interpreting history and as a key point of reference for some of its main theoretical and methodological issues, interdisciplinary approaches, and research themes. The Handbook brings together 30 eminent international scholars from a wide range of disciplinary backgrounds, offering examples of the most innovative research while representing a wide range of approaches, themes, and cultural contexts. The Handbook is divided into four sections: the first looks at some key methodological and theoretical approaches; the second examines some of the key research areas that have developed an interdisciplinary dialogue with translation history; the third looks at translation history from the perspective of specific cultural and religious perspectives; and the fourth offers a selection of case studies on some of the key topics to have emerged in translation and interpreting history over the past 20 years. This Handbook is an indispensable resource for students and researchers of translation and interpreting history, translation theory, and related areas.
ISBN: 9781315640129
The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Methodology
The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Methodology provides a comprehensive overview of methodologies in translation studies, including both well-established and more recent approaches. The Handbook is organised into three sections, the first of which covers methodological issues in the two main paradigms to have emerged from within translation studies, namely skopos theory and descriptive translation studies. The second section covers multidisciplinary perspectives in research methodology and considers their application in translation research. The third section deals with practical and pragmatic methodological issues. Each chapter provides a summary of relevant research, a literature overview, critical issues and topics, recommendations for best practice, and some suggestions for further reading. Bringing together over 30 eminent international scholars from a wide range of disciplinary and geographical backgrounds, this Handbook is essential reading for all students and scholars involved in translation methodology and research.
ISBN: 9781315158945
The Routledge Handbook of Translation Studies
The Routledge Handbook of Translation Studies provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art account of the complex field of translation studies. Written by leading specialists from around the world, this volume brings together authoritative original articles on pressing issues including: the current status of the field and its interdisciplinary nature the problematic definition of the object of study the various theoretical frameworks the research methodologies available. The handbook also includes discussion of the most recent theoretical, descriptive and applied research, as well as glimpses of future directions within the field and an extensive up-to-date bibliography. The Routledge Handbook of Translation Studies is an indispensable resource for postgraduate students of translation studies.
Handbook of Translation Studies
As a meaningful manifestation of how institutionalized the discipline has become, the new Handbook of Translation Studies is most welcome. It joins the other signs of maturation such as Summer Schools, the development of academic curricula, historical surveys, journals, book series, textbooks, terminologies, bibliographies and encyclopedias. The HTS aims at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods to a relatively broad audience: not only students who often adamantly prefer such user-friendliness, researchers and lecturers in Translation Studies, Translation & Interpreting professionals; but also scholars and experts from other disciplines (among which linguistics, sociology, history, psychology). In addition the HTS addresses any of those with a professional or personal interest in the problems of translation, interpreting, localization, editing, etc., such as communication specialists, journalists, literary critics, editors, public servants, business managers, (intercultural) organization specialists, media specialists, marketing professionals. The usability, accessibility and flexibility of the HTS depend on the commitment of people who agree that Translation Studies does matter. All users are therefore invited to share their feedback. Any questions, remarks and suggestions for improvement can be sent to the editorial team at hts@kuleuven.be. Next to the book edition (in printed and electronic, PDF, format), HTS is also available as an online resource, connected with the Translation Studies Bibliography. For access to the Handbook of Translation Studies Online, please visit http://www.benjamins.com/online/hts/ .
This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbook of Translation Studies
This book covers the history of the theory and practice of translation from Cicero to the digital age. It examines all major processes of translation, offers critical accounts of current research, and compares competing theoretical perspectives. It considers all kinds of translation fromsacred texts, poetry, fiction, and sign language to remote, consecutive, and simultaneous interpretation in legal, diplomatic, and commercial contexts. The two opening parts of the book consider the history of translation theory and central concepts in the study of translation. Parts III, IV, and Vcover the written text, the interpretation of speech and sign language, and the role of translation in mixed-mode and multimedia contexts. Part VI considers the contributions and challenges of information technology including the uses and limitations of machine technology. The final part looks atthe teaching and training of translators and interpreters. The book concludes with a comprehensive bibliography and index. Designed as a state-of-the-art reference and practical guide, the book will serve the needs of all those involved in translation, whether as professional translators and interpreters, researchers in translation studies and allied disciplines, or as undergraduate or postgraduate students. This is, insum, an essential work in a vibrant, fast-moving, and fascinating field.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies
Including approximately 30 new entries, this encyclopedia presents a comprehensive overview of the rich and complex academic discipline of translation studies.
The Routledge Handbook of Interpreting
The Routledge Handbook of Interpreting provides a comprehensive survey of the field of interpreting for a global readership. The handbook includes an introduction and four sections with thirty one chapters by leading international contributors. The four sections cover: The history and evolution of the field The core areas of interpreting studies from conference interpreting to interpreting in conflict zones and voiceover Current issues and debates from ethics and the role of the interpreter to the impact of globalization A look to the future Suggestions for further reading are provided with every chapter. The Routledge Handbook of Interpreting is an essential reference for researchers and advanced students of interpreting.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Technology
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Technologyprovides a state-of-the art survey of the field of computer-assisted translation. It is the first definitive reference to provide a comprehensive overview of the general, regional and topical aspects of this increasingly significant area of study.　 The Encyclopediais divided into three parts: Part One presents general issues in translation technology, such as its history and development, translator training and various aspects of machine translation, including a valuable case study of its teaching at a major university; Part Two discusses national and regional developments in translation technology, offering contributions covering the crucial territories of China, Canada, France, Hong Kong, Japan, South Africa, Taiwan, the Netherlands and Belgium, the United Kingdom and the United States Part Three evaluates specific matters in translation technology, with entries focused on subjects such as alignment, bitext, computational lexicography, corpus, editing, online translation, subtitling and technology and translation management systems. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Technologydraws on the expertise of over fifty contributors from around the world and an international panel of consultant editors to provide a selection of articles on the most pertinent topics in the discipline. All the articles are self-contained, extensively cross-referenced, and include useful and up-to-date references and information for further reading. It will be an invaluable reference work for anyone with a professional or academic interest in the subject.
English-French Translation by
English-French Translation: A Practical Manual allows advanced learners of French to develop their translation and writing skills. This book provides a deeper understanding of French grammatical structures, the nuances of different styles and registers and helps increase knowledge of vocabulary and idiomatic language. The manual provides a wealth of practical tasks based around carefully selected extracts from the diverse text types students are likely to encounter, from literary and expository, to persuasive and journalistic. A mix of shorter targeted activities and lengthier translation pieces guides learners through the complexities and challenges of translation from English into French. This comprehensive manual is ideal for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students in French language and translation.
ISBN: 9781315731933Publication Date: 2020-12-29
- Oxford Reference Online Premium Contains dictionaries and reference titles covering a variety of subjects: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Bibliographies and Indices
- Index translationum: International bibliography of translations / Répertoire international des traductions.See also, the online bibliographic search for Index Translationum
- Community Translation Resources The website communitytranslationresources.org was created as part of the research project “Empowering Communities through Translation: The Case of the Newcomers’ Guide to Edmonton” conducted by a team of scholars at the University of Alberta in collaboration with the City of Edmonton.
Translation Standards
The Library is able to provide access to several standards relevant to translation:
ASTM and ISO standards are available online IHS Standards Expert.Click the IHS Standards Expert link, then type the ASTM or ISO numbers (e.g. ASTM F2575) into the search box to access full text. IHS registration is required for full-text access. For assistance please contact the Cameron Service Desk.
- ASTM F2575 Standard Guide for Quality Assurance in Translation
- ASTM F2089 Standard Guide for Language Interpretation Services
- ASTM F2889 Standard Practice for assessing language proficiency
- ISO 704 (3rd edition, 2009): Terminology work -- Principles and methods
- ISO DIS 1087 (2011 draft): Terminology
- ISO 3166-1 Codes for the representation of names of countries and their subdivisions
- ISO 12616 (1st edition, 2002): Translation-oriented terminology
- ISO 12620 (2nd edition, 2009): Terminology and other language and content resources
Article and Book Databases
- Translation Studies Bibliography The Translation Studies Bibliography online covers research in translation and interpretation studies. Included are books, articles in journals and books and book reviews from 1994.
- Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation (BITRA) This site comprises over 64,000 entries (over 8,000 books, 25,000 book chapters, 28,000 journal articles, 1,500 Ph.D. dissertations, 190 journals, etc.), with more than 28,000 abstracts (over 40% of the entries), more than 80,000 citations collected in the Impact field, and more than 2,000 tables of contents, making up a bibliographical database on translation and interpreting created in 2001, and assembled and coordinated by Javier Franco . There are searchable versions in 15 languages: Arabic, Basque, Catalan, Chinese, Dutch, English, French, Galician, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Romanian and Spanish.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This collection from Gale provides access to all volumes of Gale's reference set, Dictionary of Literary Biography as well as Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. Featuring comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, you'll find profiles of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary also offers concise, up-to-date biographies of people in newer fields of historical enquirysuch as business, science and technology, medicine, popular entertainment, and sport.
Terminological Banks
- Termium Plus TERMIUM Plus®, une des plus grandes banques de données terminologiques et linguistiques dans le monde, vous donne accès à des millions de termes en anglais, français, espagnol et portugais. Vous pouvez trouver des termes, des abréviations, des définitions et des exemples d’utilisation dans un large éventail de domaines spécialisés. La banque de données est un outil essentiel pour décoder les acronymes, vérifier un titre officiel, trouver un équivalent dans une autre langue et bien plus encore.
- Banque de mots (Presses universitaires de France) Cette revue, présente des études et des recommandations sur la formation des mots nouveaux ainsi que des articles sur les vocabulaires spécialisés forgés récemment dans les disciplines scientifiques et techniques. Outil de travail pour les traducteurs et tous ceux qui s'intéressent à l'évolution de la langue française dans le monde.
Ressources bilingues et françaises
- Linguee English-French Dictionary. Search 1,000,000,000 translations.
- Le grand dictionnaire terminologique Le grand dictionnaire terminologique (GDT) is produced by the Office de la langue française of the government of Quebec.
- Le Grand Robert de la langue française Cette nouvelle version électronique du Grand Robert contient l'intégralité de la dernière édition du Grand Robert de la langue française.
- Usito This link opens in a new window Usito is a North-American French language dictionary with linguistic data on standard French, as well as regional terminology from across Canada and elsewhere.
- Le Bon Patron French https://bonpatron.com/en/
- Wiktionnaire Dictionnaire français. Branche francophone du projet Wiktionary.