Subject Guides: Finance: Home

Current Awareness

Financial Times - FT.com This link opens in a new window
This is the current, web-based version of the Financial Times newspaper.
Alberta - FT.com Quick Start Guide

Individual registration expires annually at the end of August, and must be renewed.
Economist Intelligence Unit: EIU Viewpoint
Provides full-text to the Economist magazine.
ProQuest One Business
Full text access to the Wall Street Journal
US Major Daily Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the New York Times, 1980-, the Wall Street Journal, 1984- , the Washington Post, 1987- , the Chicago Tribune, 1985- and the Los Angeles Times. 1985- .

New York Times - NYTimes.com

Canadian Newsstream
Access Globe & Mail, National Post.
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
Canadian Newsstream coverage extends to a large number of newspapers, including the following:
- Calgary Herald (December 7, 1988- )
- Edmonton Journal (March 10, 1989- )
- Financial Post (January 5, 1985 - October 1998)
- Globe and Mail (November 14, 1977 -)
- Regina Leader Post (January 1, 2000 - )
- Montreal Gazette (January 2, 1985- )
- National Post (October 27, 1998- )
- Ottawa Citizen (September 3, 1985- )
- St. Catharines Standard (October 1, 1997- )
- Saskatoon Star Phoenix (May 27, 1996- )
- Vancouver Province (March 20, 1989- )
- Vancouver Sun (January 2, 1987- )
- Victoria Times Colonist (January 4, 1993- )
- Windsor Star (October 20, 1986- )
  
  Contains text in English and French / Français.

On-campus	Off-campus
Click ‘here’ highlighted in blue on the renewal page	Click ‘Go’ on the renewal page
Choose ‘already have a login’	This will take you to our CCID sign-in page, sign in
Choose ‘Log in here’, enter your NYT academic subscription login details	Choose ‘already have a login’
Your renewal is confirmed; a renewal date will display for you to add to your calendar	Choose ‘Log in here’, enter your NYT academic subscription login details
	Your renewal is confirmed; a renewal date will display for you to add to your calendar

Finance Databases

PitchBook
PitchBook provides data and insights on global capital markets. It tracks companies, investments, investors, funds, limited partners, service providers, people, and more.
Restrictions on Use:
- Exporting and printing is limited to 10 daily / 25 monthly rows of company, deal, or fund data per authorized user
- One tabled search result of company, deal, or fund entities into Excel represents one row
Training Materials:
- When logged in to the PitchBook platform, the Help Center provides many short video ‘platform walkthroughs’, as well as an FAQ and a glossary
- PitchBook also has a YouTube channel, and the PitchBook 101 video series is helpful for new users
LSEG Data & Analytics
LSEG Data & Analytics (formerly known as Refinitiv) is a Financial and Economics information platform. Workspace for Students covers market data in a wide range of asset classes: equities, fixed income, FX, and commodities. UofA users have access to two add-ons: After-Market Research (AMR), and Datastream, a comprehensive financial time series database. PLEASE NOTE: LSEG Data & Analytics has been cancelled, and access will end after April 30, 2025.
Registered Users: click on the Access Database button above
New Users: click here to register
Use of Workspace for Students, and its two add-on modules (Datastream, After Market Research) is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alberta. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use these products for individual, non-commercial, educational, or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
This product requires individual registration with a University of Alberta email address.
PLEASE NOTE: Due to limits on the number of concurrent registrations, all user accounts will be removed following the end of each academic term. Any user requiring access for an additional term will need to re-register. Anyone who registered prior to January 2, 2025 will need to re-register for access.
To register: follow these instructions
Recommended browser: The LSEG platform is optimized for use on the Chrome browser
Restrictions on use:
- For Datastream: downloading is limited to a maximum of 10 million data points per calendar month
- For Research Analyst Reports (After Market Research): viewing, printing and downloading is limited to 150 pages per user, per 24 hour period
- For Research Analyst Reports: viewing, printing and downloading is also limited to a report value limit of $2,000 per user, per calendar year, based on the commercial value of individual reports. PLEASE NOTE: There is no actual cost generated for users.
Desktop Version: U of A students, faculty, and staff are permitted to download the desktop versions of Workspace for Students, Datastream, and Aftermarket Research. PLEASE NOTE: U of A Library staff and Campus IT staff cannot provide technical support for the desktop versions. For technical support, use the contact links below.
Training materials:
- LSEG Academy Learning Centre
- How to find Aftermarket Reports in LSEG Data & Analytics
Technical support:
- Call the LSEG helpdesk: 1-800-738-8377
- LSEG Support
Mergent Market Atlas (formerly Mergent Online)
Provides copies of annual reports and profiles for public U.S. and non-U.S. based companies. Profiles include: History, Business, Property, Subsidiaries, Officers, Directors, Long term debt, Capital stock, Annual income statement and Annual balance sheet. Also provides copies of annual reports, links for EDGAR filings, corporate profiles and recent news for U.S. public companies.
Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
Historical price data for stocks traded on US exchanges. Historical returns for global stock and fixed income (bond, t-bill etc.) indices.
NetAdvantage
Company financials/valuations, stock/bond data;
CRSP Database (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research in Security Prices Database provides access to NYSE/AMEX/Nasdaq Daily and Monthly Security Prices and other historical data related to several thousand companies.
The month-end data begins in December 1925 for NYSE. The end-of-day data begins in 1962 for NYSE and AMEX and 1972 for Nasdaq. CRSP (the Center for Research in Security Prices) maintains the most comprehensive and accurate databases of standard and derived historical data for NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq common stocks. It is maintained by the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business.
CRSP Databases (CHASS) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to CRSP US Stock and CRSP Historical Indexes.
Canadian Financial Markets Research Center
Contains Toronto Stock Exchange data (prices, returns, volume, etc. for Canadian common and preferred equities).
Orbis
Company financials and peer comparisons for public and private companies.
Orbis provides information on close to 400 million companies (both private and public) and entities across the globe. 41 million of these have detailed financial information. There are three additional modules hosted on the Orbis platform:
- EDGAR Filings are US SEC documents available for publicly quoted companies on US stock exchanges, banks, and insurance companies. Examples would be 8-K, 10-K, Proxy, and information statements.
- News Service aggregates news pieces from several sources, including Acquire Media, Dow Jones, and Thomson Reuters. Access includes full articles and tags for topics, industries, and countries.
- Zephyr is the most comprehensive database of deal information, and it is updated hourly, and is useful for corporate finance research. It contains information on M&A, IPO, private equity / venture capital deals, rumors, and other transaction-level details.
FP Advisor (Financial Post)
FP Corporate Analyzer Reports provide ready access to the most popular data items. These include financial statement aggregates, current financial statistics, ratios and share price information for the top 1,500 publicly traded Canadian companies.
EMIS This link opens in a new window
Current and historic data. Covers equities, stock indices, macroeconomic series and forecasts, and corporate finances. Focus is on emerging markets.
Mergent Archives
Provides corporate information dating back as far as the early 1900's. Corporate histories & financial statements searchable by company name, year, & report type. Contains all of Mergent & Moody's Corporate Manuals.
Contains PDF copies of corporate annual reports for American and International companies (Including Canadian) going as far back as 1874.
Datastream This link opens in a new window
Datastream is a module within the LSEG Data & Analytics database platform that provides access to comprehensive financial time series information
Registered Users: click on the Access Database button above
New Users: click here to register
Use of Workspace for Students, and its two add-on modules (Datastream, After Market Research) is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alberta. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use these products for individual, non-commercial, educational, or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
This product requires individual registration with a University of Alberta email address.
PLEASE NOTE: Due to limits on the number of concurrent registrations, all user accounts will be removed following the end of each academic term. Any user requiring access for an additional term will need to re-register.
To register: follow these instructions
Recommended browser: The LSEG platform is optimized for use on the Chrome browser
Restrictions on use:
- For Datastream: downloading is limited to a maximum of 10 million data points per calendar month
- For Research Analyst Reports (After Market Research): viewing, printing and downloading is limited to 150 pages per user, per 24 hour period
- For Research Analyst Reports: viewing, printing and downloading is also limited to a report value limit of $2,000 per user, per calendar year, based on the commercial value of individual reports. PLEASE NOTE: There is no actual cost generated for users.
Desktop Version: U of A students, faculty, and staff are permitted to download the desktop versions of Workspace for Students, Datastream, and Aftermarket Research. PLEASE NOTE: U of A Library staff and Campus IT staff cannot provide technical support for the desktop versions. For technical support, use the contact links below.
Training materials:
- LSEG Academy Learning Centre
- How to find Aftermarket Reports in LSEG Data & Analytics
Technical support:
- Call the LSEG helpdesk: 1-800-738-8377
- LSEG Support

Alpha Vantage Public Stock API
Includes Canadian, US, European, and other global financial and economic datasets including stock/ETF prices, company financials, forex data, and quantitative industry/market signals. Multiple access methods are supported, including web-based HTTP access, Microsoft Excel, and Google Sheets. Additional technical resources for University of Alberta members and affiliates: (1) official documentation, (2) data guide, technical support is available from Alpha Vantage directly.
Financial Performance Data (Government of Canada)
Selected revenue, expense, profit and balance sheet items as well as financial ratios on small business in Canada.
Data for 2012- available as open data on the Open Government website.
Sage Business
- This link opens in a new window
Yahoo Finance
Current and historical data for equities, stock indices, commodities, currencies and cryptocurrencies.

Ask Us

Rutherford Library

Contact:

Rutherford Library
11208 89 Ave
Edmonton AB T6G 2G5

Email Us

780-492-5791

Finance

Current Awareness

Finance Databases

Ask Us

Stock Information Tutorials