Lists shareholders by name. Archived data since January 2002. Global coverage.
Orbis provides information on close to 400 million companies (both private and public) and entities across the globe. 41 million of these have detailed financial information. There are three additional modules hosted on the Orbis platform:
EDGAR Filings are US SEC documents available for publicly quoted companies on US stock exchanges, banks, and insurance companies. Examples would be 8-K, 10-K, Proxy, and information statements.
News Service aggregates news pieces from several sources, including Acquire Media, Dow Jones, and Thomson Reuters. Access includes full articles and tags for topics, industries, and countries.
Zephyr is the most comprehensive database of deal information, and it is updated hourly, and is useful for corporate finance research. It contains information on M&A, IPO, private equity / venture capital deals, rumors, and other transaction-level details.
Thomson Reuters Insider Data is the most extensive collection of insider trading data as reported on SEC Forms 3, 4, 5, and 144. The data is from 1978 and covers equity and convertible trades by individuals and institutions that are classified by the US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) as "insiders."
SEC Forms Used to Compile Insider Information:
Form 3 - Initial statement which identifies holdings of registrant's securities owned by directors, officers, and 10% shareholders. A Form 3 must be filed within 10 days after the event.
Form 4 - Amendment to Form 3 reporting a sale or acquisition of registrant's securities. A Form 4 must be filed by the tenth say of the month following the month in which the transaction occurred.
Form 5 - Annual section 16 filing filed 45 days after the company's fiscal year end.
Form 144 - A form filed as notice of the proposed sale of restricted securities, or securities held by an affiliate of the issuer in reliance on Rule 144 when the amount to be sold during any three-month period exceeds 500 shares or has an aggregate sales price in excess of $10,000.
Please note: Thomson Reuters Ownership data (formerly called Spectrum) is not a clean set of data. This is mostly due to reporting inconsistencies with the SEC documents from which the data is pulled. Also, this is a database of transactions (buying and selling of stock) so it is meant to be a record of changes in position, not a snapshot by quarter.