Subject Guides: Marketing &amp; Consumer Behaviour: Consumer Behaviours

Consumer Behaviours

Polaris Market Analytics and Intelligence
Canadian demographic information about income, occupation, lifestyle, education, ethnicity, household expenditure, etc.
The Polaris database is licensed for only one concurrent user.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
This is a mapping and data analysis database that allows users to create thematic maps and reports using thousands of Canadian demographic, spending, business and marketing data. Data and reports can be generated nation-wide by Province, CMA, CD, FSA, CSD, CT and DA. This database also includes premium market segmentation data (PRIZM) from Environics, which allows the analysis of customer's lifestyles and trends.
SimplyAnalytics is licensed for only 5 concurrent users.
SimplyAnalytics is a mapping and data analysis database that allows users to create thematic maps and reports using Canadian demographic, household, business, and marketing data. There are two ways to access SimplyAnalytics:
- With an individual account. This will allow you to save work from session to session. To create an individual account or use your existing account, click on the link below.
- With a guest account. You will not be able to save your work from session to session. Click on the link below, and follow the instructions near the bottom of the screen to access with a temporary account.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Nutrition data includes country consumption for nutrients: Energy (calories), Protein, Carbohydrates, Sugar, Fat, Saturated Fat, Fibre, and Salt.

Sage Business
This platform brings together several SAGE Business collections: Cases, Data, Foundations, References & Academic Books, Skills, and Video. It also Provides direct links to Business-related content in SAGE Research methods.

Mintel Reports
Statista
This interdisciplinary database provides access to statistics for hundreds of industries, along with colourful infographics for download. Also included are Surveys, Country Reports, Industry Reports, and Market Outlooks, Reports and Studies.
Conference Board of Canada: Reports
Full text access to Conference Board of Canada Reports in the following areas: Canadian Economics, Education & Skills, Health, Human Resources, Immigration, Inclusion, Indigenous & Northern Communities, Innovation & Technology, and Sustainability

Household spending (Data. Statistics Canada)
Links to a number of tables related to household spending - Canada, provincial and territorial level data.
Select table of interest and then Add/Remove data to customize the table.

USA Specific

MarketResearch.com Academic
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to market research reports that cover a variety of sectors such as beverages, food, office supplies, personal care and telecommunications. The reports are detailed and international in scope and application. The database features daily updates, charts and graphs. Includes reports only from: Freedonia Focus; Packaged Facts; Simba Information; Kalorama Information
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect is a collection of worldwide business information that allows the comparison of public and private international business intelligence, including data, people, and industry news.

Consumer Expenditure Survey
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics site has tables and population segment information.
Census.gov (United States Census Bureau)
U.S. portal site to a range of information on the U.S. population.