Basic Italian by Higgins; PeyronelIntroducing Italian culture and people through the medium of the language used today, Basic Italian: A Grammar and Workbook provides readers with the basic tools to express themselves in a wide variety of situations. Presenting twenty-three individual grammar points in lively and realistic contexts, Basic Italian is an accessible reference grammar with related exercises in one, easy to follow volume. Each unit consists of jargon-free explanations and comparisons with English, which focus upon the more common difficulties experienced by learners of Italian. Features include: * contemporary examples in both Italian and English * grammar tables for easy reference * full exercise answer key * glossary of grammatical terms. Basic Italian is the ideal reference and practice book for beginners, as well as for students with some knowledge of the language.
Italian/English Business Glossary by Vincent Edwards; Gianfranca Gessa ShepheardThis is an essential reference companion to all who use Italian for business communication. Containing over 5000 words, this handy two-way A-Z glossary covers the most commonly used terms in business. It will help you to communicate with confidence in a wide variety of business situations, and is of equal value to the relative beginner or the fluent speaker. Written by an experienced native and non-native speaker team working in business language education, this unique glossary is an indispensable reference guide for all students and professionals studying or working in business where Italian is used.
Modern Italian GrammarThis new edition of the Modern Italian Grammar is an innovative reference guide to Italian, combining traditional and function-based grammar in a single volume. With a strong emphasis on contemporary usage, all grammar points and functions are richly illustrated with examples. Implementing feedback from users of the first edition, this text includes clearer explanations, as well as a greater emphasis on areas of particular difficulty for learners of Italian. Divided into two sections, the book covers: traditional grammatical categories such as word order, nouns, verbs and adjectives language functions and notions such as giving and seeking information, describing processes and results, and expressing likes, dislikes and preferences. This is the ideal reference grammar for learners of Italian at all levels, from beginner to advanced. No prior knowledge of grammatical terminology is needed and a glossary of grammatical terms is provided. This Grammar is complemented by the Modern Italian Grammar Workbook Second Edition which features related exercises and activities.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Italian Literature by Rinaldina RussellOver the last 20 years, there has been an increasing interest in feminist views of the Italian literary tradition. While feminist theory and methodology have been accepted by the academic community in the U.S., the situation is very different in Italy, where such work has been done largely outside the academy. Among nonspecialists, knowledge of feminist approaches to Italian literature, and even of the existence of Italian women writers, remains scant. This reference work, the first of its kind on Italian literature, is a companion volume for all who wish to investigate Italian literary culture and writings, both by women and by men, in light of feminist theory. Included are alphabetically arranged entries for authors, schools, movements, genres and forms, figures and types, and similar topics related to Italian literature from the Middle Ages to the present. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and summarizes feminist thought on the subject. Entries provide brief bibliographies, and the volume concludes with a selected, general bibliography of major studies. This volume covers eight centuries of Italian literature, from the Middle Ages to the present. Included are entries for major canonical male authors, such as Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as for female writers such as Lucrezia Marinella and Gianna Manzini. These entries discuss how the authors have shaped the image of women in Italian literature and how feminist criticism has responded to their works. Entries are also provided for various schools and movements, such as deconstruction, Marxism, and new historicism; for genres and forms, such as the epic, devotional works, and misogynistic literature; for figures and types, such as the enchantress, the witch, and the shepherdess; and for numerous other topics. Each entry is written by an expert contributor, summarizes the relationship of the topic to feminist thought, and includes a brief bibliography. The volume closes with a selected general bibliography of major studies.
Call Number: PQ 4063 F45 1997
Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies by Marrone and PuppaThis encyclopedia is a two-volume reference work containing some 600 entries on all aspects of Italian literary culture, not just Italian high literature. It includes analytical essays on authors and their works, from the most important figures of Italian literature to little known authors.
Orlando Furioso AtlasThis project seeks to chart the space of the Orlando Furioso as Ariosto and other 16th-century humanists might have imagined it, on a topographical representation of the world that was entering the European imagination in the very years that the great Ferrarese poet was writing and editing the three editions of his magnum opus (1516, 1521, 1532).
Petrarchive An edition of Petrarch’s songbookThe Petrarchive Project has advanced significantly in its goals for offering a “rich text,” interactive edition of one of the icons of western literature, Petrarch’s Rerum vulgarium fragmenta (Rvf).