Subject Guides: Modern Languages and Cultural Studies (MLCS): Slavic Studies

Librarian

Peggy Sue Ewanyshyn

she/her

Email Me

Slavic Studies Databases

News: The contents of the Slavic Humanities Index are now included in EBSCO Discovery.

American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window Also known as: |ABSEEES| ABSEEES Online is the electronic version of The American Bibliography of Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies. It covers scholarly publications on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada from 1990 to the present. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and selected government documents.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Slavic Humanities Index This link opens in a new window The Slavic Humanities Index is a bibliographic database in the field of Central, Eastern, and South-Eastern European Studies. This comprehensive database indexes important scholarly periodicals published in the region that until now had remained largely unindexed and, therefore, difficult to utilize in research. It includes publications from Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Ukraine.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Russian Social Sciences & Humanities Periodicals (UDB-EDU) This link opens in a new window Provides researchers with a unique opportunity to cross-search the contents of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ukrainian Publications (UDB-UKR) This link opens in a new window Also known as: |UDB-UKR| Ukrainian publications (UDB-UKR) is a full text database of newspapers and magazines of Ukraine published in Ukrainian, English, and Russian. Also includes news wire reports and other products of Ukrainian news agencies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

All Slavic Languages & Literature Databases

Other Library Catalogues / National Bibliographies

Natsional'na bibliohrafiia Ukrainy. Litopys knyh This link opens in a new window This is the online version of the Ukrainian national bibliography's series that covers books. Online coverage is available from 2002 to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Національна бібліотека України імені В. І. Вернадського / National Library of Ukraine
Национальная электронная библиотека 80% of the NEL-fund can be viewed by users without any limitations.
Digital Library of Dissertations - Russian State Library

Natsional'na bibliohrafiia Ukrainy. Litopys avtoreferativ dysertatsii This link opens in a new window This is the online version of the Ukrainian national bibliography's series that covers dissertations defended in Ukraine. One of the requirements for obtaining a PhD in Ukraine is to publish summaries or abstracts, "avtoreferati" in Ukrainian, based on the chapters of the submitted dissertation. This bibliography covers all such publications from 2001 to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as: |National bibliography of Ukraine. Chronicle of dissertation abstracts|

Virtual Library of Polish Literature Look for online works by and about Polish writers from Asnyk to Zulawski
Сводный каталог (база данных) печатных изданий Русского Зарубежья 1918-1991 годов: Библиографический указатель ГОСУДАРСТВЕННЫЙ АРХИВ РОССИЙСКОЙ ФЕДЕРАЦИИ, Москва 2010 . Литература Русского Зарубежья, находящаяся на хранении в Государственном архиве Российской Федерации, включена в состав фондов Научной библиотеки и Архивохранилища коллекции документов по истории белого движения и эмиграции.

Primary Sources

Haціональна бібліотека України імені В. І. Вернадського: Електронні ресурси
Докусферa: Электронный фонд Российской национальной библиотеки
Targeting History and Memory The ICTY and the investigation, reconstruction and prosecution of crimes against cultural and religious heritage.
more...less...
an interactive online narrative featuring photographs, maps, and video footage presented in trials at the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, documenting the deliberate destruction of cultural heritage in the 1990s wars in Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and Kosovo.
International Foundation for Socio-Economic and Political Studies (Gorbachev Foundation) Archives and Library The archival collection reflects the evolution of the Russian state and society, mostly in the period from the late 1980s to the current day. The center’s collection of documents is based on the records donated to the Foundation by Mikhail Gorbachev and his family. They cover Mikhail Gorbachev’s activities as head of the Communist Party and state leader, and his subsequent political and public initiatives since 1992. The archives also contain personal records of Mikhail Gorbachev’s close associates - Anatoly Chernyayev, Georgy Shakhnazarov, Valentin Zagladin, and others. A separate holding is a collection of records relating to the life and public activities of Raisa Gorbachev.

Preserving Web Documents

Ukrainian-Canadian Content: The University of Alberta Library have begun to add Ukrainian-Canadian content to the Internet Archive. Here is the list of sites that we are working on so far:

Background Info

Bibliography of Slavic literature by Nisula, Dasha C̆ulić
Call Number: PG 501 Z9 N57 2001
History of the literary cultures of East-Central Europe: junctures and disjunctures in the 19th and 20th centuries by Cornis-Pope, Marcel
Call Number: PN 849 E9 H577 2004

Language Dictionaries

Find dictionaries on the shelf in these call number ranges, Rutherford Library North 5th floor:

Russian: PG 2640
Ukrainian: PG 3891
Polish: PG 6640

Ask for help to find a dictionary.

Cyrillic Scripts & Transliteration

Cyrillic scripts are transliterated in the library's catalogue using the ALA-LC Romanization Tables.
This is a North American standard.

Many academic sources use the International Standard.
ISO Standards for Writing and Translation:
- OA Access in Wikipedia
- Check ISO Standards Database for most current versions

Eesti Keele Instituut provides tables listing multiple transliteration systems
- scroll down to find the table for your language

Translit.net transliterates for you using the International system of transliteration

Transliterate.com transliterates for you. Offers 3 transliteration systems, including ALA-LC (select using drop-down menu)

Descriptions in OCLC WorldCat can be either ALA-LC or ISO, because WorldCat includes library catalogue records from all over the world.