The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and CultureIn 129 articles and three volumes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture provides a compendium of the best available scholarship on the nation's rich history and culture. An international group of leading authors, including well-known Mexican scholars, reveals new orlittle-known dimensions of this past or confirms with new sources previous interpretations of the Mexican experience. Themes include the expected topics of politics and economics, combined with powerful articles on biography, environment, gender, and culture, including music, art, and cinema. Uniqueto this volume are the essays on digital sources, such as digitized archives and photographic collections, with information on accessing and using them for historical research.Articles add to topical considerations such as gender and ethnicity, place Mexico into wider dimensions such as the Atlantic World and the Pacific Rim, and offer conclusions on natural phenomena such as flora (yielding pulque) and volcanic eruptions (in a farmer's corn patch). Authors enlightenreaders with assessments of Spanish-Aztec warfare, indigenous mastery of the Spanish legal system to bend it to their purposes, songs prohibited by the Inquisition, and more than one hundred other fascinating aspects of the nation's history. Coverage of individuals includes widely known figures suchas the monumental Benito Juarez, the hero and traitor Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna, Porfirio Diaz, and Lazaro Cardenas, as well as several outstanding women whose contributions have helped shape Mexican culture and politics. The Tlatelolco massacre of demonstrators in 1968 receives careful assessmentand other essays examine the changing popular and political attitudes that followed. The tragedy ushered in events that created Mexico's electoral democracy confirmed in the 2000 presidential election.Written in clear explanatory prose and incorporating the latest research, the encyclopedia's articles offer a marvelous narrative that will be of use to scholars, students, and the general reader.
Latin America in VideoThis link opens in a new windowThis collection includes quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more.