Grey Literature on Spanish Language and Literatures
Reports of the Observatory of the Spanish Language and Hispanic Cultures in the United StatesThe objective of the Observatory is to create a center that will serve as a point of international reference for the study, prospective analysis, and diagnosis of the state of the Spanish language in the United States, with special attention to its social, cultural, and linguistic evolution, its use by any speakers of the Spanish language, including but not limited to minorities, and its coexistence with other languages.
Database Tutorials
Ebook Collections
Biblioteca Ayacucho onlineThe Biblioteca Ayacucho Digital provides free online access to around 250 Venezuelan and Latin American books, ranging from recent publications to classics by authors such as Simón Bolívar
HathiTrustThis link opens in a new windowClick "Log-In" and select "University of Alberta" from drop-down list. HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. University of Alberta faculty, staff, and students are able to access full-text material that is in the public domain (as determined by the Hathi Trust) or copyright cleared.
Caribbean LiteratureThis link opens in a new windowCaribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
Open Edition BooksOpenEdition Books est une plateforme de livres en sciences humaines et sociales. Plus de la moitié d'entre eux est en libre accès. Des services complémentaires sont proposés via les bibliothèques et institutions abonnées.
Ediciones del Quijote de la Biblioteca Nacional de EspañaEste portal dedicado a las ediciones del Quijote de la Biblioteca Nacional de España, nace con motivo de la celebración del cuarto centenario de la publicación de la Segunda Parte. Su objetivo es reflejar la enorme riqueza de la colección quijotesca de la BNE ofreciendo en un único punto de consulta todas las ediciones que de esta obra se conservan en la BNE. De este modo, se pueden encontrar desde las primeras ediciones de la primera y segunda parte de 1605 y 1615 hasta las más recientes que siguen ingresando en la Biblioteca. Junto a éstas, se ofrecen numerosas adaptaciones, compendios, selecciones y ediciones escolares que se han publicado y que constituyen un capítulo fundamental en la difusión de la obra de Cervantes y en la historia de la enseñanza en España.
Casa del Libro (temporary access)Las editoriales de forma solidaria apoyan a los lectores, ofreciendo la mejor selección de eBooks gratis para pasar la cuarentena, disfrutando con las mejores lecturas
Classic Mexican CinemaThis link opens in a new windowCollection of popular movie periodicals on Mexican Cinema. Also includes flyers and other documents.
Library of Congress Archive of Hispanic Literature on TapeListen to audio recordings of prominent Hispanic writers including Nobel Laureates Gabriel García Márquez, Juan Ramón Jiménez, Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, and Octavio Paz, and renowned writers Jorge Amado, Jorge Luis Borges, and Julio Cortázar reading from their works at the Library of Congress.
The Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape at the Library of Congress dates back to 1943. It contains nearly seven-hundred recordings of poets and prose writers participating in sessions at the Library’s Recording Laboratory and at other locations around Spain and Latin America. To date, writers from thirty-two countries are represented in this collection which includes readings in Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan, French, Náhuatl, Zapotec, Aymara, English and Dutch.
Most of these recordings were captured on magnetic tape reels, and, until now, were accessible only at the Library itself. In digitizing the Archive and presenting it online, the Library hopes to greatly broaden its use and value. The material featured in this online presentation represents a sample of the Archive. The site will provide access to additional items from the Archive on a monthly basis over the next several years.
Filmoteca española onlineIncluye pelìculas y documentales del archivo NO-DO (Noticiarios y Documentales).
MIAR: Information Matrix for the Analysis of JournalsMIAR incluye más de 28.000 publicaciones, para cada una de las cuales se analiza su presencia en bdds y repertorios multidisciplinares y como resultado se obtiene su ICDS.
Scielo: Scientific Electronic Library OnlineThe Scientific Electronic Library Online SciELO is a model to manage and operate electronic publications into a cooperative network of collections of increasing quality scientific periodicals with open access focused on developing and emerging countries. The specific purpose of SciELO is to increase the visibility, accessibility, quality, use, and impact of published periodicals in a sustainable manner.
Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
CLACSO: Red de bibliotecas virtuales de ciencias sociales de América y el CaribeLa Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales CLACSO, repositorio digital, ofrece acceso libre a más de 100.000 textos de la red CLACSO con rtículos de revistas, libros, documentos de trabajo, ponencias, tesis y multimedia... El portal CLACSO-REDALYC ofrece acceso abierto e indicadores de 850 revistas de ciencias sociales y humanidades de Iberoamérica (350.721 artículos).
Sumarios ISOC-Ciencias Sociales y HumanidadesGovernment of Spain's Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) produces since 1971 three bibliographic databases with references to articles published in mainly Spanish scientific journals.
iMex Revista: Literature, Cultural Studies, Visual Arts, Sociology, Historiography, Philosophy, Economy and SociolinguisticsThe focal point of the various disciplines, methodologies and perspectives embraced by this Open Access journal is directed towards a broad and rigorous investigation of the cultural diversity of Mexico, taking into account historical and contemporary phenomena, and the analysis of the resultant interrelations between the two fields. The integration of the different approaches also includes comparative investigations, such as the examination of the relations between Mexico and the rest of the American continents, Europe and Oceania.
EcopoesiaEcopoesia is a website created to be a bilingual (English and Portuguese) resource platform about ecocriticism and ecopoetics in Brazilian literature.
Spain in Translation to English: 2008-2019The Three Percent Literary Translation Database includes information across 11 different data points about titles from a non-English language published for the first time into English between 2008 and 2018. The data points include title, author, translator, publisher, publication date, ISBN, genre, language, country, author gender, translator gender and Best Translated Book Award (a University of Rochester competition) winner/finalist. Ebooks are included.
HispaniaDevoted to the teaching of Spanish and Portuguese, Hispania is published by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese. Hispania invites the submission of original, unpublished manuscripts on language, linguistics, literature, literary criticism, film, culture, cultural studies, applied linguistics and pedagogy having to do with Spanish and Portuguese.
Hispanic ReviewQuarterly journal devoted to research in Hispanic literary and cultural studies.
Tribuna LatinaAlberta's Spanish language monthly newspaper published in Edmonton
Call Number: University of Alberta Rutherford-Humanities & Social Science
