- UAlberta Home |
- Find a Person |
- ONEcard |
- Bear Tracks |
- Maps |
- Email & Apps |
- eClass
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish
A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish is a comprehensive, cohesive and clear guide to the forms and structures of Spanish as it is written and spoken today in Spain and Latin-America. It includes clear descriptions of all the main grammatical phenomena of Spanish, and their use, illustrated by numerous examples of contemporary Spanish, both Peninsular and Latin-American, formal and informal. Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition is even more relevant to students and teachers of Spanish. The sixth edition includes: * new chapters, providing more detail and examples of key areas of Spanish grammar; * an increased number of Mexican examples to reflect the growing interest in this country's variety of Spanish; * new information for readers studying Spanish and French together; * a glossary of grammatical terms including English translations of Spanish terms. The combination of reference grammar and manual of current usage is invaluable for learners at level B2-C2 of the Common European Framework for Languages, and Intermediate High-Advanced High on the ACTFL proficiency scales.
A Reference Grammar of Spanish by
A Reference Grammar of Spanish is a comprehensive handbook on the structure of the Spanish language. Keeping technical terminology to a minimum, it provides a detailed yet clear point of reference on all the intricacies of Spanish grammar, covering word order, parts of speech, verb use, syntax, gender, number, alphabet, and pronunciation. Accompanied by a wealth of carefully chosen examples, it looks at Spanish in Iberia, the USA, Mexico, and Argentina, and demonstrates the differences between these varieties. It is designed specifically with English-speaking learners in mind, and contains useful tools such as a glossary of terms, an index, and a detailed examination of different registers of the language. Clearly structured and systematically organised, this volume is set to become the standard guide to the grammar of contemporary Spanish, and will be an invaluable resource for teachers and students, as well as a practical supplement to textbooks and classroom study.
This link opens in a new window
Gramática Fundamental Del Español by
Gramática fundamental del español abarca una amplia gama de temas relacionados con la morfología, la sintaxis y la escritura del español. Usando ejemplos contextualizados y atendiendo a la dimensión cognitiva, esta gramática presenta diferentes maneras de entender numerosos aspectos básicos del uso y el significado de la gramática, incluyendo: frases, cláusulas y oraciones clases de palabras y tipos de oraciones gramática de la palabra construcción y análisis de oraciones gramática y escritura Esta obra incluye información gramatical sobre las variedades más generales del español. También proporciona un amplio conjunto de ejercicios, las soluciones a los ejercicios y un índice de materias y términos gramaticales. Esta gramática es una lectura clave para los estudiantes de español y de estudios hispánicos entre los niveles intermedio-bajo y avanzado-alto de ACTFL o bien entre los niveles B1 y C2, si se sigue el CEFR.
Linguistic Landscape in the Spanish-Speaking World by
Linguistic Landscape in the Spanish-speaking World is the first book dedicated to languages in the urban space of the Spanish-speaking world filling a gap in the extensive research that highlights the richness and complexity of Spanish Linguistic Landscapes. This book provides scholars with an instrument to access a variety of studies in the field within a monolingual or multilingual setting from a theoretical, sociolinguistic and pragmatic perspective. The works contained in this volume aim to answer questions such as, how the linguistic landscape of certain territories includes new discourses that, ultimately, contribute to a fairer society; how the linguistic landscape of minority or low-income communities can enforce changes on language policy and who determines advertising planning; how these decisions are made and how these decisions affect vendors, customers, and the general public alike. All in all, this collective volume uncovers the voices of minority groups within the communities under study.
The Handbook of Hispanic Linguistics by This link opens in a new window
Estudios Del Discurso / the Routledge Handbook of Spanish Language Discourse Studies by
Estudios del discurso / The Routledge Handbook of Spanish Language Discourse Studies es un manual internacional que ofrece un panorama abarcador de los Estudios del discurso, con acento en las áreas más relevantes, actuales y de proyección futura en el mundo hispanohablante. Participan en él académicos que son referentes del campo en España, América Latina y Estados Unidos. Esta obra es también ú nica por su extensión y cobertura: contiene 36 cap í tulos organizados en cinco partes que cubren los métodos y teorías de los Estudios del discurso, su relación con otras disciplinas, los vínculos entre discurso, sociedad y cultura en los diversos países hispanohablantes, cuestiones de discurso y comunicación, y estudios aplicados del discurso. Este volumen constituye una obra de referencia que refleja el dinamismo y la productividad de los Estudios del discurso en lengua española. Así pues, es un recurso incomparable para quienes se ocupan del discurso en su actividad académica o profesional. Gracias a la ejemplificación con casos analizados, es útil para estudiantes universitarios y docentes de grado y posgrado. Por su parte, los investigadores de diversas ramas de las Humanidades y las Ciencias Sociales encuentran una estupenda puesta al día sobre los avances y debates en este campo. Estudios del discurso / The Routledge Handbook of Spanish Language Discourse Studies is an international handbook which offers an encompassing panorama of Discourse Studies with an emphasis on the most relevant, up-to-date and promising areas in the Spanish-speaking world. The contributors are leading scholars in the field in Spain, Latin America and the United States. This book is also unique in its scope: Its 36 chapters are organized in five parts which deal with the methods and theories of Discourse Studies, its relationship with other disciplines, the links between discourse, society and culture in the various Spanish-speaking countries, issues of discourse and communication, and applied studies of discourse. This volume constitutes an inescapable reference that reflects the dynamism and the productivity of Discourse Studies in Spanish. For this reason, it is an incomparable resource for those with academic or professional interests in discourse. Thanks to the illustration with analysed cases, it is useful for undergraduate and graduate students and teachers. In addition, researchers in various branches of the Humanities and the Social Sciences find here a vibrant update on the advances and debates in this field.
Diccionario de términos críticos de la literatura y la cultura en América Latina by
La propuesta de compendiar este diccionario de autoría colectiva surgió del interés y la necesidad de reflexionar sobre el léxico especializado en el área de los estudios de la cultura y literatura latinoamericanas. Los términos seleccionados remiten a problemas, contextos y áreas geoculturales diversas y, en ese sentido, conforman un amplio mapa de la crítica latinoamericana. Buscando realizar una valoración y puesta al día del legado conceptual que es representativo de la historia cultural del continente, todos los términos considerados, articulados como un conjunto orgánico a través de referencias cruzadas, dan cuerpo al latinoamericanismo, formación discursiva atravesada de polémicas y sometida a una revisión crítica en los últimos tiempos. Material de referencia y utilidad para interesados en los estudios latinoamericanos, tanto para los jóvenes investigadores como para especialistas y lectores en general, este trabajo aspira a mostrar las transformaciones de un campo y dimensionar, al mismo tiempo, el aporte de América Latina a la crítica literaria y cultural.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Atlas de Literatura Latinoamericana
La escritora Clara Obligado coordina este necesario Atlas de literatura latinoamericana que pretende visibilizar y reivindicar la rica variedad de tradiciones literarias presentes en esos países y que con demasiada frecuencia se desconocen en España y en las naciones vecinas. Algunos de los mejores narradores latinoamericanos del momento nos presentan la obra de sus maestros: Andrés Neuman, por ejemplo, escribe sobre Roberto Bolaño, Mariana Enríquez sobre Silvina Ocampo y Ana María Shua sobre Augusto Monterroso. Y así en más de treinta textos para mostrar una panorámica de la literatura de Latinoamérica. Agustín Comotto ilustra este libro, que es una invitación a descubrir autores inolvidables.
Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater by
The Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater provides users with an accessible single-volume reference tool covering Portuguese-speaking Brazil and the 16 Spanish-speaking countries of continental Latin America (Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela). Entries for authors, ranging from the early colonial period to the present, give succinct biographical data and an account of the author's literary production, with particular attention to their most prominent works and where they belong in literary history. The introduction provides a review of Latin American literature and theater as a whole while separate dictionary entries for each country offer insight into the history of national literatures. Entries for literary terms, movements, and genres serve to complement these commentaries, and an extensive bibliography points the way for further reading. The comprehensive view and detailed information obtained from all these elements will make this book of use to the general-interest reader, Latin American studies students, and the academic specialist.
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedianbsp;is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
Some 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975. Entries range from shorter, factual articles to longer overview essays offering in-depth treatment of major issues. Culture is defined in its broadest sense. Entries include: *Antonio Gaudi * science * Antonio Banderas * golf * dance * education * politics * racism * urbanization This Encyclopedia is essential reading for anyone interested in Spanish culture. It provides essential cultural context for students of Spanish, European History, Comparative European Studies and Cultural Studies."
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
