Librarian
Denis Lacroix
Contact:
1-01G Rutherford South
University of Alberta Library
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2J4
Website
University of Alberta Library
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2J4
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Grammars
- Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window Covers world literature. Includes biographies of major and minor writers, scholarly descriptions of texts written by these authors, and a variety of descriptive and critical essays on literary, cultural and historical matters to provide an understanding of the social contexts in which this writing was produced.
The Cambridge companion to the Italian novel
The Cambridge Companion to the Italian Novel provides a broad-ranging introduction to the major trends in the development of the Italian novel from its early modern origin to the contemporary era.
Italian Women Writers by Call Number: PQ 4063 I88 1994
The Dante Encyclopedia by
This reference work presents a systematic introduction to Dante's life and works and the cultural context in which his moral and intellectual imagination took shape. It summarizes theories for readers who seek basic but detailed information.
Call Number: PQ 4333 D36 2010
Article and Book Databases
- Bibliographie romane = Romance bibliographyCall Number: PC 19 Z9 R75
- Italinemo: Riviste di italianistica nel mondo Click on the Ricerche tab to consult the database.
- Open Edition Books OpenEdition Books est une plateforme de livres en sciences humaines et sociales. Plus de la moitié d'entre eux est en libre accès. Des services complémentaires sont proposés via les bibliothèques et institutions abonnées.
- IBS.it Ebooks (temporary access) Su IBS una ricca selezione di libri in formato eBook scaricabili gratuitamente e da leggere online gratis su PC, smartphone e sul tuo eReader.
- Internet Archive & Open Library From: Internet Archive. Offers over 10,000,000 fully accessible books and texts.
- Dante Online Search for Dante manuscripts, works, and resources.
- American Dante Bibliography The bibliographies include all publications relating to Dante (books, articles, translations, reviews) written by North American writers or published in North America for the calendar year, as well as reviews of books from elsewhere published in the United States and Canada.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Provides access to the daily editions of national and international newspapers and magazines.Restrictions: PressReader access to The Globe & Mail newspaper is only available on campus. Click here for ON CAMPUS Access.For off-campus access to The Globe & Mail, please see Canadian Newsstream, CPI.Q or Factiva
Video Databases
Journals
- L'EspressoCall Number: AP 37 E74 1975-
- Italian Culture Official publication of the American Association for Italian Studies. Its interdisciplinary scope offers scholarly articles in Italian language, linguistics, history, literature, cinema, politics, philosophy, folklore, popular culture, migration, and the influence of Italy on other cultures. It also includes articles on comparative literature and cultural studies.
- Romance Notes A journal that accepts articles on any literary, cultural, or linguistic topic dealing with Romance studies.