- UAlberta Home |
- Find a Person |
- ONEcard |
- Bear Tracks |
- Maps |
- Email & Apps |
- eClass
The Complete Costume Dictionary by 
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: From 1066 to Present
Pictorial Encyclopedia of Historic Costume
Ranging from the elegant garments worn by citizens of ancient Egypt, Greece, and Rome to the dramatic clothing of nineteenth-century French, English, and German societies, this stunning pictorial encyclopedia chronicles the full sweep of historic dress through the centuries. Carefully gathered from a rare portfolio originally published in 1906, over one thousand detailed engravings are presented here in a continuous chronological format. An unparalleled history of costume design;collection includes;the garb of kings and laborers ... ladies and warriors ... peasants and priests. Scores of accessories are also illustrated, including shoes, jewelry, wigs, and hair ornaments, along with furniture, musical instruments, and weaponry from a fascinating array of time periods. Exquisitely rendered and magnificent in scope, the Pictorial Encyclopedia of Historic Costume is a visual delight for designers, artists, historians, and everyone captivated by fashion's timeless allure.
Illustrated Encyclopedia of World Costume
This authoritative resource presents a comprehensive history of clothing and accessories. "A mine of information" (Choice), the book covers every world culture with 650-plus entries, more than 2,100 black-and-white drawings, and eight pages of color illustrations. A detailed index makes it easy to locate garments from any era.
The Encyclopedia of Human Ecology
Comprised of more than 600 informative entries, this work examines the interdisciplinary and complex topic of human ecology. Knowledge gathered from disciplines that study individuals and groups is blended with information about environments from various fields.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A Dictionary of Contemporary World History
With more than 2,600 entries, all written by an expert in the field, the third edition of this authoritative dictionary provides in-depth coverage of major recent historical events, from 1900 to the present day. The book includes informative entries on every country in the world, with maps and historical summaries, and has biographical profiles of major historical figures, political and military leaders, and leading thinkers who influenced events. Readers will find information on international organizations, treaties, religious and political movements, as well as key incidents, places, and battles. The new edition has been fully revised and updated, and boasts a wealth of new material, including extended coverage of historical context in the country entries, new and expanded biographical entries on figures such as Angela Merkel and President Lula of Brazil, web links that can be accessed via a special companion website (regularly updated to ensure accurate information), and useful tables including lists of office-holders for countries and organizations and winners of the Nobel Peace Prize. In sum, this is a comprehensive reference work that will prove invaluable to a range of readers from students of history, politics, and international relations, to anyone with an interest in the modern world.
A Dictionary of World History
This wide-ranging dictionary contains a wealth of information on all aspects of history, from prehistory right up to the present day. Over 4,000 clear, concise entries include biographies of key figures in world history (living and dead), separate entries for every country in the world(summarising key historical events), and in-depth entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and major conflicts and events and their after-effects.For this new edition, existing entries have been revised and updated to reflect the very latest global events including changes in leadership, wars, political situations, and the statistical information given for each country (population counts, currency, languages, religions). New entries have beenincluded for key figures who have recently come to prominence and world events.The book also contains twenty-five detailed maps linked to key historical events and topics. These include the African slave trade, the Black Death, and the Normandy campaign. Also included are over 200 country maps. The dictionary is enhanced by entry-level web links which are accessed via adedicated companion website.Encyclopedic in scope, this ambitious A to Z provides an excellent overview of world history both for students and anyone with an interest in the subject.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window