Subject Guides: Human Ecology: Clothing, Textiles & Material Culture: Material culture

Images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Registering for ARTstor:
- At the first ARTstor page click on the orange "Go" icon (upper right of screen).
- Click on "Not registered?" (upper right). Include an email address (this can be a non-UofA email address if you've already keyed in a University of Alberta CCID and password).
- Confirm the email address, then select and confirm a password.
- Click on "Submit."

Databases

Proquest - All Databases This link opens in a new window This link to the ProQuest platform allows for cross-searching of over 100 databases covering multiple subjects and content formats.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR contains fulltext academic journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a date defined, on a publisher by publisher basis, by a "moving wall". The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: religion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies, political science, the arts, law, education and geneology. Published since 1954.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window Offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of Berg content collections, including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAII) This link opens in a new window A leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in Design and Applied Arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Topics include ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window This site indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts, which provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Also known as: | Art Abstracts | Art Index | Provides comprehensive indexing of international art publications, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Dutch, and Swedish. Subjects areas indexed include art, architecture, design, film, archaeology and marketing.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window This database includes the contents of Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. It provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window Documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web Of Science Core Collection includes Citation Indexes for Arts & Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full text for a large collection of business journals and peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals (back to 1886 or the first issue published for that journal) are included.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse: Online Journals from Johns Hopkins University Press provides full text access to journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theatre and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window Explore by various design disciplines, period, people, place, schools, movements and styles.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Key journals for HECOL 201

Other useful guides

Art and Design
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 388 views this year

History
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Apr 2, 2024 2787 views this year

Economics
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 755 views this year

Sociology
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Apr 2, 2024 288 views this year