Subject Guides: Human Ecology: Clothing, Textiles & Material Culture: Fashion industry

Databases for Fashion Research

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) This link opens in a new window "find articles"
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window Offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of Berg content collections, including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

WWD (Women's Wear Daily) Premier trade magazine for latest news and advertising on women's and men's fashions.

Vogue (US Edition) This link opens in a new window The complete run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. It preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and provides a unique historical record of American and international fashion, culture and society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vogue Italia This link opens in a new window The complete run of Vogue Italia one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events. Vogue Italias appeal and influence is international, with almost half of its print issues typically being sold outside of Italy. Coverage: 1964 - current
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window This is is the world's leading online trend forecasting, analysis and research service. It provides creative content, tools and business intelligence to the apparel, style, beauty, design and retail industries. It includes millions of images. A personal account must be created.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window This database combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development making this the ultimate guide to a visual arts education. It includes multiple fields of practice, including: Fashion and Textiles, Design and Illustration, Photography, Film and Media, Architecture and Interiors, Marketing and Advertising.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window This collection contains videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide. Students and researchers can access a remarkable collection covering the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections. Topical segments visit events like the Met's Costume Exhibits, CFDA Awards, and feature interviews with top designers, models, and celebrities of the fashion world.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window This database provides scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It contains reference and book content, museum object images, and allows students and academics to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Indexes articles and reports from publications such as Textile Outlook International and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Databases for Company Research

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Orbis This link opens in a new window This is a global database which provides detailed information on millions of companies. It has extensive coverage of private companies and offers the comparing of companies internationally. The data solutions show what companies do, how they're performing and the people that run them. It also includes financial data, legal entity details, M&A activity and news.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Orbis provides information on close to 400 million companies (both private and public) and entities across the globe. 41 million of these have detailed financial information. There are three additional modules hosted on the Orbis platform:
- EDGAR Filings are US SEC documents available for publicly quoted companies on US stock exchanges, banks, and insurance companies. Examples would be 8-K, 10-K, Proxy, and information statements.
- News Service aggregates news pieces from several sources, including Acquire Media, Dow Jones, and Thomson Reuters. Access includes full articles and tags for topics, industries, and countries.
- Zephyr is the most comprehensive database of deal information, and it is updated hourly, and is useful for corporate finance research. It contains information on M&A, IPO, private equity / venture capital deals, rumors, and other transaction-level details.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Factiva includes full text of newspapers from around the world in addition to Canadian and American newspapers, Dow Jones & Reuters newswires, business journals, market research reports, analyst reports and web sites.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva also provides American congressional committee hearings, publications of selected U.S. government departments and agencies,The Federal Register and state laws and regulations, publications of U.S. government watchdog organizations, and selected international government publications.
FP Advisor (Financial Post) This link opens in a new window Also known as: |FP infomart| FP Advisor contains detailed information about Canadian public and private companies, company directors, archival financial information, special analytical tools, and a lead list generator.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Databases for Industry Research

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window For Canadian and US reports on textile and apparel industries.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Nutrition data includes country consumption for nutrients: Energy (calories), Protein, Carbohydrates, Sugar, Fat, Saturated Fat, Fibre, and Salt.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window Mintel offers market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Conference Board of Canada: Reports This link opens in a new window Full text access to Conference Board of Canada Reports in the following areas: Canadian Economics, Education & Skills, Health, Human Resources, Immigration, Inclusion, Indigenous & Northern Communities, Innovation & Technology, and Sustainability 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Other guides to explore

Industry
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 344 views this year

International Business & Trade
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 113 views this year

Databases for News, Professional and Academic articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full text for a large collection of business journals and peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals (back to 1886 or the first issue published for that journal) are included.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and full text of Canadian business and current affairs material.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PressReader This link opens in a new window Provides access to the daily editions of national and international newspapers and magazines.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Restrictions:
• PressReader access to The Globe & Mail newspaper is available only from on campus
• For off-campus access to The Globe & Mail, please see Canadian Newsstream or CPI.Q.